Stovebolt.com
Posted By: Trent Tumbleson 48 chevy 1 ton gas tank - Wed Nov 24 2021 02:36 AM
I'm new to this whole resort thing. I got a 1948 Chevy Thriftmaster (1 ton) on a "barn find". I'm 0-19 in my efforts to find a gas tank (under bed) for it. Does anyone know where I can find one? Preferably new, but at this point, used will do.
Posted By: Eureka Jim Re: 48 chevy 1 ton gas tank - Fri Nov 26 2021 04:26 AM
Hello Trent, I haven't found a source for an exact replacement tank. I think your best bet is to place an ad here in the 'Parts Wanted' section. I've had pretty good luck finding things there.
Those tanks are difficult to find. I got lucky with my trucks in that good cleanings and a couple of small repairs were all that was needed.
Posted By: EdPruss Re: 48 chevy 1 ton gas tank - Fri Nov 26 2021 03:50 PM
You might be able to fit a behind the seat in there, new ones are available. Would have to make filler neck.

Ed
Posted By: Fox Re: 48 chevy 1 ton gas tank - Fri Nov 26 2021 05:02 PM
You are going to be hard pressed (near impossible) to find a custom fit tank for that 1 ton. If you're dead set on getting one back there, you are going to have to take measurements on the frame rails and find a fitted universal tank that will fit. In my opinion, just use the original behind the tank. If you have new hoses and a solid tank, the dreaded fumes don't exist. I have my tank behind the seat and I can't smell fuel.
Posted By: coilover Re: 48 chevy 1 ton gas tank - Sat Nov 27 2021 08:05 PM
The under bed tank became so hard to find we started making our own. A lot of people showed interest but we do not fabricate for any but our own projects so I did a write up on fabbing one up with home tooling. Not as pretty as the ones we do for shop customers with all our sheet metal equipment but it is cheap and out of sight anyway. Don't know on 1 Tons but on 1/2 and 3/4 the tank measures 13x13x21 inches. We use 18g cold rolled coated or 20g stainless which requires a TIG machine.