Stovebolt.com
Posted By: Jimmy66 Ignition problems- 305E V6 - Mon Jan 25 2021 05:20 AM
Hello! New member here. I’m a guitar builder and repair man, not a mechanic by any means. I had the chance to get the truck we camped in as a kid from my dad and I took it, so bare with my ignorance, please I recently revived my family’s 1966 GMC 3/4 ton pick up, (with a cab over open road camper and all). It hadn’t run in about 33 years. Worked on it over the summer, got it running and drove it the short 5 minutes from my parents to my house. It made it fine. I was replacing things as I went, carb rebuild, fuel pump and fuel filter, thermostat, master cylinder, bled breaks, etc. I was just taking it around my neighborhood every few days to keep it moving and one day it started stalling out on me and acting like it was starved for fuel.I barely made it home.
Since then it tries, but has not started. My first thought was I didn’t clean fuel tank well enough, so I’ve replaced the fuel tank and all the rubber line, as well as blowing out steel lines with compressed air, put an in line fuel filter, carb is getting gas. So I did a tune up, all new plugs, points, coil, condenser, rotor, wires, cap. Still wouldn’t start. I’m not getting blue spark, orange weak spark. Just installed high power alternator, and pertronix electronic ignition, and came across this resistor wire! Is it possible this has been my issue all along? I’m going to install the pertronix power relay that bypasses the resistor wire, it’s on its way. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I’m very much a novice. Thanks! - Jimmy
Posted By: Hambone Re: Ignition problems- 305E V6 - Mon Jan 25 2021 01:03 PM
Welcome Jimmy. Those camper trucks are good to save. Likely some extra options on that truck. We need pictures.

We will see what the engine experts have to say, but it sounds like you are hitting the right chords.