Stovebolt.com
Posted By: John Milliman Crate Motor Advice needed - Fri Jul 03 2020 11:55 AM
A couple of us are helping a neighbor (at the new Stovebolt HQ location) with his 1969 C-10. The plan is to remove the dead 305 and replace it with a 350. The 305 is locked up, even after two months of soaking all cylinders with a trans fluid and acetone mix. We are moving on.

So ... I have little experience with this era truck and know even less about crate motors, especially V-8's. Ultimate end state is just a good, reliable driver -- no performance or crazy other stuff. Plain, simple and reliable.

I started looking on line at Jeg's and other places and there is a dizzying array of choices that quickly made my brain hurt (not having much of one to start with AND being pretty much an inline 6 guy)...

Drop in and go would be ideal -- meaning that piecing it together (heads here, intakes there, carb somewhere else) is less than optimal as I do not know what to get for a particular short block.

What should we be looking at? What recommendations?

Will the 305 bell housing work? or are we going to have to switch that out to keep the original 3-speed in place? What other 305 stuff will we need to retain?

We're hopefully pulling the 305 this afternoon, should any of the local gang be interested in spending a very hot, very humid SoMD afternoon in an un air-conditioned shop with Sweet and I (the original ODSS OR at the farm formerly known as "Friendship Forest").

Thanks,
John
Posted By: Justhorsenround Re: Crate Motor Advice needed - Fri Jul 03 2020 12:15 PM
John, you might check in with your parts stores. Most if not all have crate engines available. This would give you the ability to deal face to face if problems arise. 🛠
Posted By: EdPruss Re: Crate Motor Advice needed - Fri Jul 03 2020 12:44 PM
Make sure to get the specs on the crate engine with exactly what parts are included-ex. manifolds, intake, water pump, alt, flywheel, distr., etc., bellhousing will bolt right up.