The Stovebolt Page Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Work those trucks!

Share what you're up to this summer!

Stovebolt Site Search

Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!

Who's Online Now
2 registered members (ApacheFiend, Eureka Jim), 114 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums48
Topics116,137
Posts926,798
Members42,560
Most Online940
Apr 5th, 2017
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
1950 4400 "behind the barn" find #801730 Mon Nov 28 2011 11:28 PM
C
cattech Offline OP
New Guy
I wanted to share a little about me and my new project. We live in west central Indiana. My work takes me all over the state (I am a field service tech for a cat dealer)and i see all kinds of thing that would make a good project. I found this truck behind a barn near logansport. Walt parked it there him self 30 years ago. had i not been there working on a machine it would still be there rusting away. I offered him $100 just to break the ice. He said "$150 and you haul it off". Well it took us (me and my wife)till the weekend to get back there with a trailer. (from the pictures in the link you can see my work truck) Had I not had the crane it would have taken a wrecker to get it out of the hole. I was amazed, five of the six tires were still holding air. Once it was up on hard ground, we had to block the wheels so it wouldn't role down the hill. the interior is ROUGH to say the least. the odometer shows 40,??? miles and i'm pretty sure it's original. There was no air cleaner on it so i figured the engine would be locked up. the engine turned over by turning the fan. On the way home, we made a couple stops to check the chains. three different times people took pictures of it on the trailer. Once we got it home, I couldn't wait to get at it. I pulled the plugs and the carb. filled the