The Stovebolt.com Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Remember old days

Remember
The old Bulletin Board?

click to enter

The old Bulletin Board has been removed from the server. And with recent "spring" cleaning, we are removing links back to it. The BB is still out in cyber space (to some extent) thanks to
The Wayback Machine.
Stovebolt Site Search
'
Oh Lord, I just gotta find it....

A pdf guide to help you search the Site


Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!


Who's Online Now
17 members (carbking, 58caddy, 59 fleet, 35truck, coilover, 1 invisible), 94 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics128,108
Posts1,037,362
Members45,936
Most Online1,229
Jan 21st, 2020
Step-by-step instructions for pictures in the forums
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#622187 Sun Feb 21 2010 07:12 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 263
P
Shop Shark
When I hit the button for my horn, all I get is a barely audible, wimpy sounding beep, not a good, loud blast. I tried different horns, checked to make sure there was a good ground, but it's still the same. Any suggestions? Thanx


My truck: She may not be the prettiest girl at the dance, but she's all mine!
pablos49 #622211 Sun Feb 21 2010 08:23 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 5,712
A
'Bolter
Pablos49,

I don't know if your truck used a horn relay...I don't think it did. If it didn't, the horn would have two wires, one from the system power and the second for a horn ground supplied by the horn button.

If the horn is powered properly, you should be able to jump the other terminal to a good clean ground and get the horn to blow.

If this happens, it means the wiring or horn button proper is faulty. If it doesn't happen, it means the horn is no good or the wiring to it is loose or poorly connected.

It's possible to use regular jumper cables connected directly to the battery to test a horn. This takes any loose connection or poor ground out of the equation and can sort of knock the cobwebs out and get the vibrator working again.

If your '49 used a horn relay this procedure isn't applicable.

Stuart

atomarc #622606 Tue Feb 23 2010 12:56 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 171
B
Shop Shark
Yes use the jumper cables on the horn, the horns are usually on older vehicales adjustable,you might want to look in to that if they don't work right with the jumper cables


Moderated by  Rusty Rod 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5