The Stovebolt.com Forums Home | Tech Tips | Gallery | FAQ | Events | Features | Search
Fixing the old truck

BUSY BOLTERS
Are you one?
Not a hanging chad... The Shop Area
continues to pull in the most views on the Stovebolt. In August alone there were over 36,294 views in those 12 forums.

Searching the Site

Get info about how to search the entire Stovebolt site here. To do a search for just the forums, get those details in the IT Shortbus fourm.
Who's Online Now
2 members (klhansen, baldeagle), 46 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
The Zone
Forum Statistics
Forums65
Topics123,445
Posts999,565
Members47,279
Most Online1,229
Jan 21st, 2020
Step-by-step instructions for pictures in the forums
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,261
F
Fox Offline
A teacher, but always an apprentice.
中中中中


In the Stovebolt Gallery [stovebolt.com]
More pictures here [photos.app.goo.gl]

1951 GMC 9430 1 ton dually-Shiny!

1970 Chevrolet C10 - Grandpas- My first truck.in progress to shiny
1972 Chevrolet C20- Rusty- the puzzle box lid for the C10.
1950 Chevrolet 1300- in progress to shiny.
1962 AMC Rambler American- my wifes

Parts trucks-
1951 GMC 9300
1951-GMC 9430
1951- Chevrolet 1300
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,038
MNSmith Offline OP
"Hey! I sound like Darth Vader!!
Originally Posted by Fibonachu
Edit: Looking closer those are injectors.

What electronics are you going to use to control it?

Edit Deux: Is this the 302 you mentioned in your other post?

Yes, they are injectors.

Today I was looking at the MS3Pro. It looks rather friendly, but I'm undecided at the moment. I'm still working on getting all the mechanicals in order, verifying firing order by cam, mostly just seeing what I got! I kinda don't want to disassemble anything, but I'd love to see if the roller cam has any markings. I'm short some push rods and need to plumb the rockers through the head. I also need to plumb the remote filter. I need to make sure that everything that is supposed to get oil, does. Kinda reverse engineer what's been done to this thing.

You know, the never ending "to do" list.

This is the 302 that I was figuring out what I needed for a bellhousing in my other post. I might have that part a little figured out. Still working on it.

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 1,370
F
Herder of Cats, Goats, and Sheep (moderator)
The MS3Pro appears to have a good set of features on paper, but I have never been impressed with any of the megasquirt products I have used.

Have you looked at the Haltech units? Depending on what features you want, it might be a better option for you.

Do you know what you want to do for ignition? The Haltech supports drive-by-wire where the MS3Pro doesn't, but with what you have there going cable throttle probably makes more sense.

The Haltech can control a 4L60e and a few other transmissions if you decide on a modern automatic. The Haltech also supports closed loop automatic tuning. Whether that is a bonus or not depends on you.


From the Rocky Mountains?
Check in with the RM Bolters!

HiPo Forum Moderator

1958 Apache, long bed Fleetside, V8 w/SM420
Driveable but the rear axle needs work.

1959 Apache, long bed Fleetside that has been in the family for 25 years but in desperate need of love.
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 770
M
'Bolter
She's screaming for a man pedal. Do you have flow numbers?


Old enough to know better, too young to resist.
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,038
MNSmith Offline OP
"Hey! I sound like Darth Vader!!
Originally Posted by Fibonachu
Have you looked at the Haltech units?

I'll look in to it. I'm still a ways away from having to make a decision.

I'm not sure how a modern automatic would be possible. Mounting configurations for this block are limited.

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,038
MNSmith Offline OP
"Hey! I sound like Darth Vader!!
Originally Posted by mick53
She's screaming for a man pedal. Do you have flow numbers?

I do not. If there were any, I haven't found any on paper as such. Knowing the owner/builder, they were in his head and are now lost to time.

Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 1,370
F
Herder of Cats, Goats, and Sheep (moderator)
I saw your post in the youtube thread about sensors, but it seems more applicable to this thread so I will comment here.

You asked about measuring airflow on this engine. You would really need some kind of MAF per cylinder to do that. I will see if I can find a small one that would fit, but it would take some custom work.

I suspect that you are going to have to run this in speed density mode though. Not knowing the cam specs will make tuning that harder, but it is doable.

Depending on the ECU you go with, you will probably need MAP (manifold air pressure) and IAT (intake air temperature) sensors.


From the Rocky Mountains?
Check in with the RM Bolters!

HiPo Forum Moderator

1958 Apache, long bed Fleetside, V8 w/SM420
Driveable but the rear axle needs work.

1959 Apache, long bed Fleetside that has been in the family for 25 years but in desperate need of love.
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,038
MNSmith Offline OP
"Hey! I sound like Darth Vader!!
Curious how that would work with 6 separate manifolds.

Attached Images
IMG_6257.jpeg (183.52 KB, 112 downloads)
IMG_6258.jpeg (206.38 KB, 110 downloads)
IMG_6259.jpeg (179.93 KB, 113 downloads)
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 1,370
F
Herder of Cats, Goats, and Sheep (moderator)
You could theoretically measure the airflow on each of them individually and fuel apprpriately, but I don't see any controllers that support that.

Edit: do you have any vacuum ports in that setup? I don't see any in the pics, but I am not sure everything is visible.

Last edited by Fibonachu; Mon Jun 05 2023 05:39 AM.

From the Rocky Mountains?
Check in with the RM Bolters!

HiPo Forum Moderator

1958 Apache, long bed Fleetside, V8 w/SM420
Driveable but the rear axle needs work.

1959 Apache, long bed Fleetside that has been in the family for 25 years but in desperate need of love.
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,038
MNSmith Offline OP
"Hey! I sound like Darth Vader!!
Originally Posted by Fibonachu
Edit: do you have any vacuum ports in that setup? I don't see any in the pics, but I am not sure everything is visible.

None. Zero.

Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Moderated by  Fibonachu, KCMongo 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Home | FAQ | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5