The Stovebolt.com Forums Home | FAQ | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search
Getting back to business
First round of holidays is about over. A few weeks before the next ones. For some of us...

Winter is Coming
Time to think about wintering your Bolt.
(continued)

A good Tech Tip
WINTERIZING YOUR TRUCK
including a link back to the Forums for some new thoughts.

Searching the Site

Get info about how to search the entire Stovebolt site here. To do a search for just the forums, get those details in the IT Shortbus fourm.
Old Truck Calendars
In the works
Nothing like an old truck calendar

2023 Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!


Who's Online Now
16 members (55shaker, KEVINSKI, Donf, FAST55, Hotrod Lincoln, crenwelge), 200 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics127,667
Posts1,046,513
Members46,401
Most Online1,229
Jan 21st, 2020
Step-by-step instructions for pictures in the forums
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1458300 Mon Jul 11 2022 04:20 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 290
L
'Bolter
I’m in the process of doing a complete rewire on my 52 Chevy truck I’m using the ez wire 12 circuit harness
As I’m doing the signal stat 900 I have everything working as it should expect the indicator lights on the switch the red will stay on at all times or only one blinker will work if I connect both blinker light wires the front blinkers will flash on left or right
So is it possible to run a separate flasher to the dash blinker wires to the pilot wire on the signal stat to get the lights to work on the switch and bypass the flashers on the fuse box?
Thanks


This is no longer fun
latroca52 #1458405 Mon Jul 11 2022 07:58 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 3,147
J
'Bolter
Sorry, but I'm not following your question. With add-on directional blinkers most problems come from one of 3 things...in this order: 1 bad ground connections at the bulb sockets or bad bulbs, 2 bad contacts within the switch unit or 3 a bad blinker module itself. If your ground connection at the bulb sockets isn't really good, you'll lose ground there and then your other bulb on that particular side won't blink (leaving the bulb on the switch itself staying on but not blinking). If you have bad contacts inside the switch, the same thing will happen (although this is less common) and if the blinker module is bad it may work intermittently...however this will affect both bulbs on the right or left circuit or all 4 if in hazard mode.
'


Jon

1952 1/2 ton with 1959 235
T5 with 3.07 rear end
latroca52 #1458419 Mon Jul 11 2022 09:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,841
C
'Bolter
Here is the wiring diagram for a Signal Stat 900 If you wire it correctly, it will work properly.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/YAHMa34oKxxnpcUL8

latroca52 #1458450 Tue Jul 12 2022 12:43 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 290
L
'Bolter
Thanks I will re check everything


This is no longer fun
latroca52 #1458458 Tue Jul 12 2022 01:47 AM
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 1,985
F
'Bolter
Latroca 52 Be sure your signal-stat body is grounded, you may have the pilot light on the lever interchanged with a turn signal wire. crenwelge is right it''ll work. I did have to use tuner cleaner on mine,corrosion in the contacts. Get tuner cleaner at frye electronic supply.

latroca52 #1458482 Tue Jul 12 2022 04:54 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 290
L
'Bolter
This how I wired the signal stat

Attached Images
C3CEDF20-CFAF-4C41-A168-93E5F0241B73.png (691.3 KB, 108 downloads)

This is no longer fun
latroca52 #1458483 Tue Jul 12 2022 04:57 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 290
L
'Bolter
The blue wire isn’t hooked up because when I connect the L-R dash indicator wires if blinker switch is R-L both front blinks work as a flasher


This is no longer fun
latroca52 #1458508 Tue Jul 12 2022 02:53 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 1,696
G
Insomniac
fixite7 made a good suggestion about the ground. The switch is grounded to the column by the mounting clamp. The paint on the column may prevent a good ground. I ran a separate ground wire from a good ground under the dash to the clamp.

You can run a temporary wire from a good ground to the clamp to test if a separate ground wire is needed.


Gord
----
1954 1/2 ton 235 4 speed
latroca52 #1458601 Wed Jul 13 2022 03:46 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 290
L
'Bolter
Will check the steering column for a good ground so where do I connect the blue wire that’s separate from the rest of the signal switch guessing it’s the pilot wire getting the L-R and hazard light on the switch is only thing not working correctly everything else is


This is no longer fun
latroca52 #1458602 Wed Jul 13 2022 04:04 AM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 1,696
G
Insomniac
I did not use the signal stat's blue pilot wire; it's taped off to keep it out of the way. I'm using a 2 prong flasher.


Gord
----
1954 1/2 ton 235 4 speed
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Rusty Rod 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Home | FAQ | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5