The Stovebolt.com Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Helping out ...

WELCOME

The site has expanded to include the 1973 to 1987 trucks!

Check out the new forum just for them and welcome our newest brothers and sisters with the "Rounded Line" trucks.
Encourage one another! Share what you've learned!

Stovebolt Site Search

Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!

Who's Online Now
2 members (ASU, Simso), 194 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums58
Topics121,815
Posts982,094
Members44,314
Most Online1,229
Jan 21st, 2020
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Inspecting a Prospective Truck II
#1393654 Thu Jan 21 2021 07:36 PM
D
New Guy
Hello from Suburban Chicagoland!

I am new to Stovebolt and I am blown away by the sheer amount of information, knowledge, and experience on this forum and general site.

I've done a fair amount of browsing around but there's just so much to sift through; I might have missed what I'm looking for.

I am going to check out a rough (doesn't run, sitting for ~5 years, mostly complete from pictures) 1948 3800 soon and was looking for a "buyers guide" or a list of items specific to that year and possibly model to be on the look out for. Each of the beauties showcased on this site have their own congenital flaws and I was just looking for a laundry list of inspection points.

I would appreciate any and all advice related to purchasing my first truck!

Thank you all in advance!

Re: Inspecting a Prospective Truck II
daniel.toy1 #1393659 Thu Jan 21 2021 08:28 PM
Grease Monkey, Moderator General Truck Talk & Greasy Spoon