The Stovebolt.com Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Helping out ...


EVENTS

Check in for status!

Jump over to the Events Forum, to post events -- new ones or the ones we have been enjoying for some time.
Look to see what's been cancelled or postponed.

Encourage one another!

Stovebolt Site Search
 
Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!


Who's Online Now
12 members (Eureka Jim, Hotrod Lincoln, KEVINSKI, aircommando462, joek3167, 2 invisible), 201 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums50
Topics122,215
Posts980,449
Members44,177
Most Online1,229
Jan 21st, 2020
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Throttle Cable
#1385691 Tue Nov 24 2020 03:07 AM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 1,180
P
Phak1 Offline OP
AD Addict
I installed the missing throttle I bought from Classic Parts and when I pull it to raise the rpm it just slides right back. The throttle doesn’t have any resistance to overcome the accelerator return spring. What am I missing?


Phil

1952 Chevrolet 3100
Project Journals
‘59 235 & hydraulic lifters
“Three on the Tree” & 4:11 torque tube
12v w/ Alternator
Re: Throttle Cable
Phak1 #1385700 Tue Nov 24 2020 03:28 AM
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 465
2
Shop Shark
Hi Phak1
I had similar problems, carefully examining one original cable I saw it had what looked like three purposeful mild bends or kinks in the inner wire spaced a few inches apart behind the pull handle
I assume that was to make friction in the spiral jacket so the throttle holds in position.
The throttle will never be stiff enough to hold while driving through a field
Vibration eventually lets the pedal spring pull it back a bit
I think it was meant as a throttle hold when the truck is parked to warm up or keep engine rpm up for PTO use.
You also can’t use it as a cheap cruise control because the first down hill you encounter the engine will over rev
So that makes me think it was only ever for stationary use.
-s

Re: Throttle Cable
Phak1 #1385704 Tue Nov 24 2020 04:10 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 21,621
H
Boltergeist
If you want the throttle cable to hold its position, just snap a binder clip onto the shaft after setting the RPM where you want it.

https://www.amazon.com/ACCO-Binder-Clips-Mini-72010/dp/B00006IBK2/ref=sr_1_18?crid=3SBNQAZ10A9SJ&dchild=1&keywords=binder+clips+small&qid=1606190828&s=office-products&sprefix=Binder+Clips%2Coffice-products%2C207&sr=1-18

Jerry


The murder victim was drowned in a bathtub full of Rice Krispies and milk.
The coroner blamed the crime on a cereal killer!

Cringe and wail in fear, Eloi- - - - -we Morlocks are on the hunt!
Re: Throttle Cable
Phak1 #1385718 Tue Nov 24 2020 01:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 1,180
P
Phak1 Offline OP
AD Addict
I just put it there to fill a hole where one should have been, but I do want it to work. As a cruise control? Not a chance!

Thanks 2ManyTrucks, I try the kinking the inner cable!

Last edited by Phak1; Tue Nov 24 2020 01:24 PM.

Phil

1952 Chevrolet 3100
Project Journals
‘59 235 & hydraulic lifters
“Three on the Tree” & 4:11 torque tube
12v w/ Alternator
Re: Throttle Cable
Phak1 #1385724 Tue Nov 24 2020 01:42 PM
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 275
L
Shop Shark
My 56 is pretty snug and it has no kinks. I had to lube and work it around to get it freed up as it was not attached when I bought the truck. I guess new cables are a lot looser.

Lee.


1956 Chevy 3200, 235 w/3 speed
Re: Throttle Cable
Phak1 #1385726 Tue Nov 24 2020 02:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,095
M
Shop Shark
I do agree, the throttle is not a cruise control. But that said when driving on long trips (hundreds of miles), on sparsely populated level roads I've been guilty of giving my right foot a break and setting the throttle to cruise speed. Generally for only a few minutes at a time. I also use it when warming up the engine on a cold day or bumping rpm up to charge the battery.

RR


1951 3600 with Clark flatbed, T5, 4.10 rear
1970 340 Duster
1990 5.0 V8 Miata (1990 Mustang Gt Drivetrain)
1951 Farmall Super A



Re: Throttle Cable
Phak1 #1385780 Tue Nov 24 2020 11:04 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 21,621
H
Boltergeist
Granny gear in a 4 speed and a big flat bed truck with the throttle knob pulled out just a bit has hauled untold thousands of hay bales, especially if the field has a few shallow ruts for the front wheels to follow. The driver just gets it pointed in the right direction and hops out to help buck bales!
Jerry


The murder victim was drowned in a bathtub full of Rice Krispies and milk.
The coroner blamed the crime on a cereal killer!

Cringe and wail in fear, Eloi- - - - -we Morlocks are on the hunt!
Re: Throttle Cable
Hotrod Lincoln #1385785 Wed Nov 25 2020 12:32 AM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,095
M
Shop Shark
Originally Posted by Hotrod Lincoln
Granny gear in a 4 speed and a big flat bed truck with the throttle knob pulled out just a bit has hauled untold thousands of hay bales, especially if the field has a few shallow ruts for the front wheels to follow. The driver just gets it pointed in the right direction and hops out to help buck bales!
Jerry

Yes Sir, been there done that. When loading by yourself it's about the only way. With the 3500 Dodge 4x4, low range works well. When the original SM420 was in the '51 low gear was a bit too slow at idle, had to pull the throttle out just a wee bit.

Luckily our fields never had ruts, so ever so often you have to give the steering wheel a corrective yank through the open window.

My Strong advice is do as I say and not as I do; never jump the trailer tongue getting to the other side! Loaded hay a couple years ago by meself and got away with it once again. You'd think a old guy would know better smile

RonR


1951 3600 with Clark flatbed, T5, 4.10 rear
1970 340 Duster
1990 5.0 V8 Miata (1990 Mustang Gt Drivetrain)
1951 Farmall Super A



Re: Throttle Cable
Phak1 #1385789 Wed Nov 25 2020 12:46 AM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 915
Shop Shark
Originally Posted by moparguy
Yes Sir, been there done that. When loading by yourself it's about the only way. With the 3500 Dodge 4x4, low range works well. When the original SM420 was in the '51 low gear was a bit too slow at idle, had to pull the throttle out just a wee bit.

Luckily our fields never had ruts, so ever so often you have to give the steering wheel a corrective yank through the open window.

Heck you guys, being a 'city boy', I thought that was just an old wives' tale............... dang

Originally Posted by Phak1
I just put it there to fill a hole where one should have been, but I do want it to work.

Phil, that's priceless and exactly why I have a throttle cable too! grin


Andy

His: 1947 Chevrolet 3104 [flic.kr]
Hers: 2008 American Saddlebred [flic.kr]

"I proudly Stand for the Flag and Kneel for the Cross" Unknown
Re: Throttle Cable
Phak1 #1385795 Wed Nov 25 2020 01:06 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 21,621
H
Boltergeist
Some of the better-equipped farmers had a conveyor belt that bolted to the side of the bed, and was driven by a roller that engaged the tread of a rear tire. The crew just bucked bales onto the conveyor, while a couple of guys riding the truck bed did the stacking. Those crews could clear a field in a hurry!
Jerry


The murder victim was drowned in a bathtub full of Rice Krispies and milk.
The coroner blamed the crime on a cereal killer!

Cringe and wail in fear, Eloi- - - - -we Morlocks are on the hunt!
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Woogeroo 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4