The Stovebolt.com Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Helping out ...

EVENTS

Check in for status!

Jump over to the Events Forum, to post events -- new ones or the ones we have been enjoying for some time.
Look to see what's been cancelled or postponed.

Encourage one another!

Stovebolt Site Search

Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!

Who's Online Now
9 members (Phak1, panel fan, dirtball, Justhorsenround, EdPruss, 1 invisible), 231 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums50
Topics122,129
Posts979,673
Members44,158
Most Online1,229
Jan 21st, 2020
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Painting strategy
#1381694 Wed Oct 21 2020 08:53 PM
R
New Guy
This is my first project, I have a 1950 chev 3100 all in pieces as I have sand blasted everything, still have some work to do on cab and frame. Some parts I used a spray bomb self etch primer after sand blasting but most parts are in my garage here in BC Canada with no signs yet of flash rusting (nothing blasted more than six months ago) . I have an attached garage so not sure if I should vent it and create a make shift paint area or rent out a spray booth, or perhaps create one somewhere else on my 3/4 acre property. Problem with the spray booth rental is the number of parts and the time to complete. I have replaced some of the sheet metal with patch panels and still have some more bondo work to do. My question is am I better off to re-assemble then take to a paint booth or try painting one piece at a time. I have never painted before but would like to learn.

Re: Painting strategy
Rick Brown #1381702 Wed Oct 21 2020 09:18 PM
Housekeeping (Moderator) Making a Stovebolt Bed & Paint and Body Shop Forums