The Stovebolt Page Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Some light reading


ENTERTAINING ADVENTURES

In the Stovebolt Reading Room

A little light reading
OR
Epic stories of old tin hunting!

Stovebolt Site Search
 
Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!


Who's Online Now
13 registered members (coilover, Craig1948RK, cmayna, 55 SHAKER, 2and4wheels, 1 invisible), 357 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums48
Topics117,366
Posts938,487
Members42,915
Most Online1,229
Jan 21st, 2020
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Ammeter bypass #1343485 Fri Jan 24 2020 10:17 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 519
W
windyville1 Offline OP
Shop Shark
I am installing a stock wire harness from scratch on my 1950 suburban. I had planned on not hooking up my Ammeter as it is not that important to me and will save $$$ not having to buy a new 12v replacement.

However....after digging into my wire harness I received from classic parts and I see that the main power runs through the ammeter to power your entire system.

Is there a way to bypass the ammeter safety?

-Cody


1950 SUBURBAN / SCHOOL BUS A.K.A "THE SCHOOL RUST"
Re: Ammeter bypass [Re: windyville1] #1343490 Fri Jan 24 2020 10:33 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 29,304
tclederman Offline
Boltergeist


Tim
1954Advance-Design.com
1954 3106 Carryall Suburban - part of the family for 49 years
1954 3104 5-window pickup w/Hydra-Matic - part of the family for 15 years
Z-series (54/55) GMC 350 (2-ton) COE - now part of Dave's family
- If you have to stomp on your foot-pedal starter, either you, or your starter, or your engine, has a problem.
- The 216 and early 235 engine are not "splash oilers" - this is a splash oiler.
Re: Ammeter bypass [Re: windyville1] #1343491 Fri Jan 24 2020 10:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,124
E
EdPruss Offline
Shop Shark
Ammeters are not voltage sensitive, just amp capacity, just hook the two wires together schematically. Then hook a wire to your voltmeter, the other side of which you ground.

It is best not to have a swarm of hot wires running around behind the panel, hook the big wires that used to to to the ammeter somewhere easily accessible for future loads and out of the way.

Ed


'37 GMC T-18 w/ DD 4-53T, RTO-610, 6231 aux., '95 GMC running gear, full disc brakes, power steering, 22.5 wheels and tires.
'47 GMC 1 ton w/ 302, NP-540, 4wd, full width Blazer front axle.
'54 GMC 630 w/ 503 gasser, 5 speed, ex fire truck, shortened WB 4', install 8' bed.
Re: Ammeter bypass [Re: windyville1] #1343497 Fri Jan 24 2020 10:42 PM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 1,791
K
klhansen Offline
Shop Shark
Here is a post that shows a way to use your original ammeter on a 12V system. There's no need to buy a 12V ammeter. Look at the whole thread as well.
If you do want to bypass the ammeter, like the other guys said, just route those wires to an accessible terminal block that could be used for other loads.

[on edit] Tim beat me to that thread link.

Last edited by klhansen; Fri Jan 24 2020 10:43 PM.

Kevin
First car '29 Ford Special Coupe
#2 - '29 Ford pickup restored from the ground up.
Newest Project - 51 Chevy 3100 work truck. Photos
Busting rust since the mid-60's
Re: Ammeter bypass [Re: windyville1] #1343527 Sat Jan 25 2020 03:39 AM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 519
W
windyville1 Offline OP
Shop Shark
So I read though all that and I think I learned two things..

1. Make a jumper between the + and - on the ammeter.

2. Install some sort of an inline fuse between the starter and the ammeter.

Everything else is wired as usual...correct?

Last edited by windyville1; Sat Jan 25 2020 03:39 AM.

1950 SUBURBAN / SCHOOL BUS A.K.A "THE SCHOOL RUST"
Re: Ammeter bypass [Re: windyville1] #1343528 Sat Jan 25 2020 03:54 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,687
H
Hotrod Lincoln Online
Boltergeist
Yes, but make sure the shunt is something other than copper wire- - - -you need enough resistance to cause a little of the charging current to pass through the ammeter so the needle will still deflect +/-. A stainless steel radiator hose clamp works well, protecting the ammeter from high current surges, while still allowing the meter to function as designed. The fusible link is there to prevent a complete meltdown of the wiring harness in case a heavy wire gets a dead short and tries to discharge the battery. I usually place the fuse link at the battery cable connector at the starter.
Jerry


The murder victim was drowned in a bathtub full of Rice Krispies and milk.
The coroner blamed the crime on a cereal killer!

Cringe and wail in fear, Eloi- - - - -we Morlocks are on the hunt!
Re: Ammeter bypass [Re: windyville1] #1343530 Sat Jan 25 2020 04:02 AM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 519
W
windyville1 Offline OP
Shop Shark
Can you be more specific about the fuse link at the starter...I have no idea what to buy

First time doing this as you can see....

Last edited by windyville1; Sat Jan 25 2020 04:08 AM.

1950 SUBURBAN / SCHOOL BUS A.K.A "THE SCHOOL RUST"
Re: Ammeter bypass [Re: windyville1] #1343536 Sat Jan 25 2020 04:35 AM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 1,791
K
klhansen Offline
Shop Shark
Originally Posted by windyville1
Can you be more specific about the fuse link at the starter...I have no idea what to buy

First time doing this as you can see....

Here's a start for you. Fusible Link
Get the wire gauge as noted in the linked thread. This was just the first hit I got.

Last edited by klhansen; Sat Jan 25 2020 04:38 AM.

Kevin
First car '29 Ford Special Coupe
#2 - '29 Ford pickup restored from the ground up.
Newest Project - 51 Chevy 3100 work truck. Photos
Busting rust since the mid-60's
Re: Ammeter bypass [Re: windyville1] #1343537 Sat Jan 25 2020 04:35 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,687
H
Hotrod Lincoln Online
Boltergeist
It was covered in the thread earlier, but here goes again- - - - -"Reading Is Fundamental". Go to your local auto parts store, to the electrical display, and buy one or two pieces of fusible link wire. A piece about 6 or 8 inches long is plenty. Attach it to the end of the wire going from the battery cable connector at the starter to one side of the ammeter. Connect the fuse link to the charging wire by using a twisted "lineman's splice" AKA "Western Union Splice" instead of a crimped connector. If the wire from the ammeter to the battery cable is a #8 gauge, use a #12 fuse link.

https://www.stovebolt.com/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php/topics/1310217/1.html

Now, back up a couple of pages on this thread and read the extensive discussion that's already been posted on fusible links- - - -what they are, why they're used, and how to connect them properly. All this information is also available to anyone willing to do a web search on the subject!
Jerry


The murder victim was drowned in a bathtub full of Rice Krispies and milk.
The coroner blamed the crime on a cereal killer!

Cringe and wail in fear, Eloi- - - - -we Morlocks are on the hunt!
Re: Ammeter bypass [Re: windyville1] #1343539 Sat Jan 25 2020 04:43 AM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 519
W
windyville1 Offline OP
Shop Shark
Thanks Jerry. Dont mind doing the research but I cant help that the subject matter is very challenging to me.

Thank you for the clarification. What seems simple to some is amazingly complex to others (me).


1950 SUBURBAN / SCHOOL BUS A.K.A "THE SCHOOL RUST"
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Rusty Rod 

Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3