The Stovebolt Page Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Points to Ponder

LOVE STRUCK!

You might be a Stovebolt Lover

Check the New Stuff and Announcements Forum

What do you think?

Stovebolt Site Search

Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!

Who's Online Now
16 registered members (48jim1ton, DennisM, clarsen3100, Bicounty, ClassicsR4Me, 2 invisible), 367 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums48
Topics117,478
Posts939,123
Members42,871
Most Online1,229
Jan 21st, 2020
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
New guy from Central New York #1340678 Mon Jan 06 2020 10:14 AM
B
Babaganush Offline OP
New Guy
Hello, I am new to Stovebolt and a newborn when it comes to classic trucks. I don’t have one yet but have narrowed my choices to 1947 - 1965 Chevy and GMC. A couple of issues I am having is determining value? Seems like prices are all over the place and mostly rising but I don’t see these high priced trucks selling. The difference between online values from different sources could be as much as $10,000 for the same truck, same condition. Also, most consignment dealers that I have spoken to have little to no details on the trucks they are selling, same goes for EBay. Sellers post a few pics with little details and expect top dollar. I have also come across some scams. I did come across a 51 3100 with a 1960 235 that was in good condition and price seemed reasonable. The seller did take pics of engine serial numbers, etc but had already taken a deposit.

What’s with all the undercoating? I looked at a 59 Apache with undercoating on the back of the cab which was painted to match the rest of the truck. This truck was born and resided in California. I’ve seen multiple trucks with frames, underbody and gas tanks coated?