The Stovebolt Page Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Work those trucks!




Stovebolt is pleased to support the Salvation Army!
We're doing fine but many around the World are not. Instead of making a contribution to us this holiday season, how about making your contribution to a great organization with a long history of helping people in need around the world?

Stovebolt Site Search
 
Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!


Who's Online Now
18 registered members (1Ton_tommy, 55 SHAKER, 59 fleet, 5 Window 9434, amadioranch, 1 invisible), 327 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums48
Topics116,599
Posts930,789
Members42,663
Most Online940
Apr 5th, 2017
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
horn is non functional #1334069 Sun Nov 17 2019 01:00 PM
Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 159
M
Mr. Dane Offline OP
Southern Soldier
i have a 1951 chevy 3100 with a original correct horn i found at a parts yard. it works perfectly fine when i manually short the contact to ground, but when i depress the horn button it only activates (the horn just clicks on/off not making noise). is a bad ground my issue? all the wires up to the horn button are fine but the horn button seems to be my issue. also i dont have a relay in the circuit, but since it works i dont think thats my issue.maybe take the steering wheel off and clean all the contacts? im out of ideas if someone would so kindly provide some insight.
edit: the horn has a relay built into it, so thats definitely not my issue

Last edited by Mr. Dane; Sun Nov 17 2019 01:01 PM.

- The '51 Chevy 3100 Truck with 1,72?,??? + current miles
Re: horn is non functional [Re: Mr. Dane] #1334119 Sun Nov 17 2019 08:14 PM
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 1,580
K
klhansen Offline
Shop Shark
I don't believe the original horn had a relay built in. It sounds to me like you have high resistance in the ground (horn button) circuit. You could add a relay to solve the issue, or track down the high resistance.


Kevin
First car '29 Ford Special Coupe
#2 - '29 Ford pickup restored from the ground up.
Newest Project - 51 Chevy 3100 work truck. Photos
Re: horn is non functional [Re: Mr. Dane] #1334310 Tue Nov 19 2019 04:59 AM
Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 159
M
Mr. Dane Offline OP
Southern Soldier
im calling high resistance on the ground end, because everything is new, therefore it could have a factory coating that negates conductivity. ill take the wheel off and wire brush all the contact points. its a start at best!


- The '51 Chevy 3100 Truck with 1,72?,??? + current miles
Re: horn is non functional [Re: klhansen] #1334392 Tue Nov 19 2019 11:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 159
M
Mr. Dane Offline OP
Southern Soldier
quick update: my truck blew up, so i no longer need assistance. thank everyone for their time


- The '51 Chevy 3100 Truck with 1,72?,??? + current miles
Re: horn is non functional [Re: Mr. Dane] #1334400 Wed Nov 20 2019 12:45 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 7,880
Justhorsenround Online
Grease Monkey, Moderator General Truck Talk & Greasy Spoon
You pulling our leg? ohwell


Martin
'62 Chevy C-10 Stepside Shortbed (Restomod in progress)
'47 Chevy 3100 5 Window (long term project)
ā€˜65 Chevy Biscayne 4dr 230 I-6 one owner (Iā€™m #2)
ā€˜39 Dodge Businessmans Coupe


"I fought the law and the law won" now I are a retired one!
Support those brave men/women who stand the "Thin Blue Line" and lock up those on the wrong side of that line.

Re: horn is non functional [Re: Mr. Dane] #1334421 Wed Nov 20 2019 02:25 AM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 276
M
Mother.Trucker Offline
Shop Shark
Originally Posted by Mr. Dane
quick update: my truck blew up, so i no longer need assistance. thank everyone for their time



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gxm_qpKh7Jw


Moderated by  Rusty Rod 

Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3