The Stovebolt Page Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Work those trucks!




Stovebolt is pleased to support the Salvation Army!
We're doing fine but many around the World are not. Instead of making a contribution to us this holiday season, how about making your contribution to a great organization with a long history of helping people in need around the world?

Stovebolt Site Search
 
Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!


Who's Online Now
10 registered members (68ironhead, Forty9, darthintel, carryall jerry, AtomV, 1 invisible), 115 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums48
Topics116,445
Posts929,577
Members42,639
Most Online940
Apr 5th, 2017
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
re-dilling a flex plate #1321715 Tue Aug 13 2019 02:42 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,293
M
Modelman Offline OP
Shop Shark
Over the past few months I've gathered together the parts needed to convert my broken 4 speed hydramatic to a 700R4., This included the Adaptor plate, the flat plate, flywheel and flex plate. But working with another trucker it was discovered that the oem holes in the flex plate are spaced futherout to line up with a torque converter, so with have to find the correct torque or can we redrill new holes on the plate?

Attached Files
Flex Plate.JPG (258.83 KB, 250 downloads)

1960 GMC 305A V-6 Gallery Page


Remember, the government cannot give --anything to anyone --that they have not first taken away from someone else.

BUY AMERICAN http://www.stillmadeinusa.com/index.html
Re: re-dilling a flex plate [Re: Modelman] #1322396 Sun Aug 18 2019 06:09 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 19,251
H
Hotrod Lincoln Online
Boltergeist
Buffalo Engineering sells a 700R4 flex plate that has been modified to fit the stovebolt crankshaft by welding a new center into the plate with the proper bolt pattern and re-balancing it. It's probably worth the cost to buy that one. It's got the correct starter ring gear to work with the stovebolt engine, also.
Jerry


The murder victim was drowned in a bathtub full of Rice Krispies and milk.
The coroner blamed the crime on a cereal killer!

Cringe and wail in fear, Eloi- - - - -we Morlocks are on the hunt!
Re: re-dilling a flex plate [Re: Modelman] #1322467 Mon Aug 19 2019 03:36 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,352
C
coilover Offline
Shop Shark
Your flex plate does not have a starter ring and I have never seen a starter ring on a 700R4 converter. Am I missing something?


Evan
Re: re-dilling a flex plate [Re: Modelman] #1322468 Mon Aug 19 2019 03:42 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,352
C
coilover Offline
Shop Shark
Oops, re-read and saw flywheel (??) mentioned. If what you are calling a flywheel is an a/t flex plate with the starter ring I would think the double parts hung on the crank would cause starter mount problems. Keep us posted.


Evan
Re: re-dilling a flex plate [Re: Modelman] #1323068 Thu Aug 22 2019 11:30 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 6,369
B
bartamos Offline
Master Gabster
Drill it.


I'm away on an ego trip. Will be back on Feb 30.
I'm not an Auto Mechanic, but I play one on TV.
I charge $0.02 for every opinion and I take Paypal.


Re: re-dilling a flex plate [Re: Modelman] #1324946 Thu Sep 05 2019 02:39 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,293
M
Modelman Offline OP
Shop Shark
Ok Update. I have a torque converter being custom built from American Hot Rod Solution http://www.americanhotrodsolutions.com/ once I get that in today I''ll take it to a machine shop and have a simple round flex plate made to fit the crank bolt pattern and the torque converter, will post pictures and a write up for the trans switch.


1960 GMC 305A V-6 Gallery Page


Remember, the government cannot give --anything to anyone --that they have not first taken away from someone else.

BUY AMERICAN http://www.stillmadeinusa.com/index.html
Re: re-dilling a flex plate [Re: Modelman] #1329119 Mon Oct 07 2019 02:08 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,293
M
Modelman Offline OP
Shop Shark
Got the plate drilled and the Torque Conveter, not onto the TV Cable, Speedo Housing and cross members......

Attached Files
IMG_20191001_182155752.jpg (101.54 KB, 58 downloads)

1960 GMC 305A V-6 Gallery Page


Remember, the government cannot give --anything to anyone --that they have not first taken away from someone else.

BUY AMERICAN http://www.stillmadeinusa.com/index.html
Re: re-dilling a flex plate [Re: Modelman] #1329126 Mon Oct 07 2019 03:54 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,262
T
Tommy Offline
Shop Shark
Jake,
There is no ring gear /flywheel gear for the starter to engage. The engine will not start, the starter will run, but it will not turn the engine.


Tommy
59 apache 1/2t
261 short stepside
Re: re-dilling a flex plate [Re: Modelman] #1329158 Mon Oct 07 2019 09:26 PM
Joined: Mar 2019
Posts: 373
G
glenns towing Offline
Shop Shark
yea what he said???

Re: re-dilling a flex plate [Re: Modelman] #1331914 Wed Oct 30 2019 03:07 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,293
M
Modelman Offline OP
Shop Shark
Tommy, on the 60+years, with the GMC 305 with the Automatics, the flex pate and fly wheel are two seperate parts, it confused me and others as well.


1960 GMC 305A V-6 Gallery Page


Remember, the government cannot give --anything to anyone --that they have not first taken away from someone else.

BUY AMERICAN http://www.stillmadeinusa.com/index.html

Moderated by  Hambone 

Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3