The Stovebolt Page Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Work those trucks!

Share what you're up to this summer!

Stovebolt Site Search

Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 241 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums47
Topics115,111
Posts913,473
Members42,120
Most Online940
Apr 5th, 2017
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
1959 Apache 32 Longbed - Temporary Insanity #1309283
Thu May 02 2019 06:19 PM
Thu May 02 2019 06:19 PM
K
Kurt59  Offline OP
New Guy
Langley, Washington
Pictures of my "new" truck

I'm a retired engineer, living on Whidbey Island near Seattle.

In a fit of temporary insanity I bought this for $1000. It has been parked under cover since 1991. The engine turns over and I did a compression check (65, 110, 100, 120, 85, 115). With a few squirts of oil in the 2 low cylinders, 65 came up to 80 and 85 stayed about the same. The doors have the bottoms rusted out, the bed is no longer attached to the frame and I'm assuming the best path forward is to just buy all new replacement sheet metal back of the cab. There are not many big holes in the cab and front fenders, so a few patch panels seem like they would suffice. The doors could either be patched (found the parts for doing this), or I could buy some better replacements.

My skills are mostly on the mechanical side. I don't know how, or have facilities to weld or paint, so I was planning on getting help with those tasks. I could probably handle doing some spot welding if that is an acceptable way to patch holes (is it?). I assume the sanding, filling jobs are not too difficult.