The Stovebolt.com Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Helping out ...


EVENTS

Check in for status!

Jump over to the Events Forum, to post events -- new ones or the ones we have been enjoying for some time.
Look to see what's been cancelled or postponed.

Encourage one another!

Stovebolt Site Search
 
Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!


Who's Online Now
19 members (68ironhead, Donf, Christian, 66flea, Ghost_Rider, canadiantim, 2 invisible), 184 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums50
Topics122,130
Posts979,678
Members44,158
Most Online1,229
Jan 21st, 2020
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
what amp fuses needed?
#1133175 Fri Nov 06 2015 03:14 PM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 184
L
Shop Shark
hi all, I have a '53 3100. it is now 12v with all standard bulbs, no LED lights. left and right tail lights, dual filament park lights. I have a signal stat 900 switch in it. I am putting an in-line fuse before the switch and I can't find info on what amp fuse to use, so what size fuse should I protect the blinker system with? also, being that it is now 12v, should I replace the 20 amp fuses for the tail and stop lights with 10 amp fuses? thanks in advance (design)!

Last edited by Lemmm117; Fri Nov 06 2015 03:30 PM.
Re: what amp fuses needed?
Lemmm117 #1133208 Fri Nov 06 2015 07:02 PM
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 58
L
Wrench Fetcher
I'm sure someone else will jump in here but I would think 20A would be fine all the way around providing your turn signal wiring is the same gage, or close to the same gage, as the rest of your fused wiring.

The fuse's job is to protect the wiring in the event of a short. A short is infinite amps so your wiring and fuses don't care what the voltage is.... only the amps. If your wiring was designed for 20A in a 6V system it will do 20A in a 12V system as well.

Best regards,
Les

Re: what amp fuses needed?
Lemmm117 #1133225 Fri Nov 06 2015 09:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 8,253
W
Master Gabster
Les is right. Use a 20amp on the turn signals & leave the others as is.


They say money can't buy happiness. It can buy old Chevy trucks though. Same thing.
[url=http://www.stovebolt.com/gallery/capito%20george%201956.html]
1972 Chevy c10 Cheyenne Super
Re: what amp fuses needed?
Lemmm117 #1133271 Sat Nov 07 2015 02:32 AM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 184
L
Shop Shark
I read in the tech article, from cletis, about installing blinker kits. He mentions adding a 5 amp fuse to the more simple signal stat 700. He says to fuse the 900 as well but didn't mention an amperage. Perhaps a 5 amp as well?

Re: what amp fuses needed?
Lemmm117 #1133283 Sat Nov 07 2015 04:07 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,766
M
Shop Shark
As long as the fuse is sized to protect the smallest gauge wire used in the entire circuit you will be fine. How small are the wires on the turn signal unit?

18 Gauge wire = 5 amp

16 Gauge wire = 10 amp

14 Gauge wire = 15 amp

12 Gauge wire = 20 anp

10 gauge wire = 30 amp

Hope this helps,

Mike B smile

Re: what amp fuses needed?
Lemmm117 #1133286 Sat Nov 07 2015 04:46 AM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 184
L
Shop Shark
The wires don't have any identification on them, but they look like either 14 or 16g. Your wire size/amp chart is helpful, and fusing according to wire size is very logical.

Re: what amp fuses needed?
Lemmm117 #1133314 Sat Nov 07 2015 02:07 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 18
B
New Guy
Thanks, Mike B

That's exactly the information I was looking for next week smile

Re: what amp fuses needed?
Lemmm117 #1133340 Sat Nov 07 2015 05:26 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,766
M
Shop Shark
Lemmm117,

Use your wire strippers to confirm the wire gauge...

Mike B smile

Re: what amp fuses needed?
Lemmm117 #1133385 Sat Nov 07 2015 10:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 184
L
Shop Shark
It appears that the wires are 16g. One interesting thing to note is when installing this switch, the directions say CAUTION: power lead must be connected to a line which is hot when ignition is off for hazard warning signal to operate when motor is not running! I'd assume that often times people would hook it up to a power source that is only hot when the ignition is on, and that wouldn't work out too well if your broke down on the side of the road.

Last edited by Lemmm117; Sun Nov 08 2015 12:13 AM.
Re: what amp fuses needed?
Lemmm117 #1133770 Tue Nov 10 2015 03:42 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 9,048
Master Gabster
The flip side to that is that can accidently leave the truck parked with the blinkers going.


1951 GMC 1 Ton Flatbed -- It is finally on the road and what a great time I have driving it!
1951 1 Ton Completed


My Chevy Master 4 Door is on the Road!
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Rusty Rod 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4