The Stovebolt Page Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Helping out ...

EVENTS

Check in for status!

Jump over to the Events Forum, to post events -- new ones or the ones we have been enjoying for some time.
Look to see what's been cancelled or postponed.

Encourage one another!

Stovebolt Site Search

Old Truck Calendars
Months of truck photos!
Nothing like an old truck calendar

Stovebolt Calendars

Check for details!

Who's Online Now
6 members (DennisM, SH Miller, homer52, CrowbarBob, coilover, 3B), 125 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Statistics
Forums50
Topics120,469
Posts965,627
Members43,681
Most Online1,229
Jan 21st, 2020
Image Posting Policy
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
General Shifting Troubleshooting
#1007875 Mon Feb 17 2014 05:27 PM
D
Wrench Fetcher
Hi all,

I wanted to ask a simple question, considering I am new to owning a '54 Chevy 3100 1/2 ton pickup truck. I did some research on my tranny grinding when put into first from a stop, and learned about 'jimmying' it into second/third to reset the assembly before putting into first gear, which solved my problem of the grinding noise, however, I want to know, how on earth do I fix this so I don't have to slightly pop it into second/third before going back into first from a dead stop. (Adjust column shifter, clutch pedal, gearbox assembly, worn parts/levers/forks, worn gears??)

I have the truck shop manual and factory assembly manual for reference, but like I said, I am completely new to this truck, so just a little advice from the experienced on where to start would be great. Also, I can post pictures of any progress in order to help and be helped.

Thanks very much in advanced!
-Rafael

Psalm 32:8
Re: General Shifting Troubleshooting
DeanThe54Chevy #1007884 Mon Feb 17 2014 06:20 PM
D
Shop Shark
I would start by adjusting the clutch, that usually helps.