The Stovebolt Page Forums Home | FAQ | Forum | Swap Meet | Gallery | Tech Tips | Links | Events | Features | Search | Hoo-Ya Shop
Grilles for 1934, 35, and 36 GM trucks

To 1934-35 and 1936 GM Truck Customers

A limited number of new grilles have just arrived! They are totally SHOW QUALITY, mirrow-polished, stainless steel. Includes outer reinforcing band, vertical center bars, and special customer fasteners to attach to your outer shell.

LOOK HERE
and see

Limited Quantity!

Old Chevy Trucks.com

Stovebolt Site Search
Old Truck Calendars
2015 Calendars!
12 months of GMC Stovebolts

There are over 10 to choose from.

Check for details!

Who's Online
14 registered (chadkiser, don stocker, DrewP, chevytruckdaddy, Bill Marlow, 5 Window 9434), 78 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
37,091 Registered Members
46 Forums
97,834 Topics
748,625 Posts

Most users ever online: 399 @ Wed Apr 09 2014 10:26 PM
Today's Birthdays
bigjohn83, biglou55, I'm new to the old, kristof, RA HART
Image Posting Policy
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 >
Topic Options
#833419 - Thu Mar 08 2012 01:26 PM Climbing Hills?
Lucille Offline
Shop Shark
Loc: Murphy, NC
I don't like the performance I'm getting climbing hills. When I approach a hill I have to really give Lucille gas to build up speed, however, once I am maybe half way up the hill she starts cutting out on me. I let my foot off the gas slightly and she reacts and catchs up with power a bit, then I give her a little more gas and she'll start cutting out a bit more. It's this back and forth thing we go through. I've got her set to the correct RPM (475 approx), new points, condenser, distributor cap and plugs. Should I be playing with the throttle as I climb a hill? Can someone explain to me the usage of the throttle? Or do I have another obvious problem that I don't understand? This old technology stumps me sometimes. Especially on the performance side of things.

David Wolff
1946 Chevy 1/2-ton
In the Gallery